Card #1: Christmas thank you

I anticipate, at least until it starts getting light later, that I will be posting my cards on Saturdays, so that I can take relatively decent pictures of said cards.  As it happens, this week I didn’t get my card made until last night, so posting today was my only option anyway.  🙂  Once it starts staying light later, after this freezing cold winter is over, perhaps I’ll be able to post the cards the day I actually make them.  I’m planning on setting Wednesday nights as my creative evening, but we’ll see how that goes.  I really need to create some kind of schedule for myself.

My first card for this project is a thank you card.  I needed one for after Christmas, so I figured instead of using something boring I already had, why not make that my first entry?  I got the idea for the design from this book:

IMG_8807

I picked this up at a garage sale a couple years ago and it has all sorts of “recipes” for layouts and designs.  I think it will come in very handy for this blog.

So here is the card.

IMG_8810

IMG_8815

I used Christmas paper that I had purchased last year for another project and had a lot left over.  I love the kind of vintage-y colors.  The word stamp is from the Stampin’ Up set Small Script, which as I recall was a hostess special, but I could be wrong about that.  As the decorative paper on the front is just paper, I used adhesive squares to attach them to the cardstock instead of glue so the paper wouldn’t wrinkle.  I left the inside blank so I can fill it with thankful thoughts to the recipient.

Phew, first card done and posted!  I will admit this week’s card was a bit of a struggle, as I’ve been having some issues with my wrist, but my mind has been very active thinking about designs and ideas and I’m excited to try some new things out and use some of my stamp sets that I have never used yet.

On to week two…

One thought on “Card #1: Christmas thank you

  1. Deb (Mom) January 11, 2015 / 5:46 pm

    NIce job!

    Like

Share your thoughts