Card #2: Steampunk Generic

Everything was conspiring against me to get this card done and up today!  My creativity was pretty dead all week, so I only got around to making the card this morning, and the creative juices still weren’t flowing very well.  My glue didn’t want to hold, and the clear stamps I was using didn’t want to stick to my blocks.  (I have come to the conclusion that I am not fond of clear stamps and any stamps I purchase in the future will be the good ol’ fashioned wood block kind, even if they cost a bit more!)  And then my computer konked out on me.  Many thanks to my dad who is a computer whiz and was able to get me up and running again.

So, on that note, a bit about the card.  I was introduced to the world of steampunk through my favorite blogger who writes a geek blog.  If you’ve never read Epbot, go check it out here.  I’m not nearly as obsessed with it as she is, but I do love the color palette, the use of gears, the amazing costumes and props people have created, and the ray guns.  Because, ray guns!  🙂  So this card is my first attempt at a steampunk card.  I’m going to guess that I’ll try again sometime throughout the year to make something better.

IMG_8828

IMG_8823

The stamps are from the Stampin’ Up set Clockworks.  The metal embellishments are from a set of gears and such I got at Joann’s quite a while ago.  I do believe they still carry them, though.  And I think the ribbon was from Hobby Lobby on clearance.  Hooray for clearance impulse shopping!  The ribbon was the last touch I added to the card, because it seriously needed something more, and I think it works.  I left the card blank inside as this is a rather generic card, so it can be filled with any sort of message.

Share your thoughts

