I just can’t!

Ok guys, here’s the deal.  I’ve got less than two months before I’m leaving for Dragon Con.  I am planning on debuting 3 brand new cosplays at the con, and my apartment looks like a craft store blew up in it.  But, none of it is card-related.  Every bit of my free time right now is getting devoted to working on my costumes so that I don’t enter into full-blown panic mode a week before the con, still trying to put the finishing touches on my cosplays.  🙂

So, I’m putting the cards on hold for a while, and instead will be giving you (hopefully) weekly updates on my costumes instead.  If you’re just here for the cards, I’m sorry, but there’s going to be a break.  You can ignore my posts for the next several weeks, or you can enjoy this peek into other areas of my life.

I am going to be wearing a costume every day at the con this year.   The first time I went two years ago, I only wore a costume on Saturday and Sunday.  But this year, all four days, baby!  It just makes going to cons even more fun if you’re all dressed up as some beloved character.  I am recycling my Amy Pond costume and wearing it again as the gal going with me this year is going one day as Rose Tyler.  So that’ll be fun.  We’re also planning on going one day as gender-swapped Merlin and Arthur from BBC’s Merlin (I’ll be Merlin).  I haven’t even started on that costume yet.  But, I’m thinking that one won’t be too hard to put together.

merlin

The other two costumes are definitely in progress mode right now.  The one that’s almost done is a humanized version of Applejack from My Little Pony.

I’m pretty much done with the costume, except for trying out the different white face paint I got and adding some little tweaks.  I am planning on making some little apple gifts to give to any little kids that are especially excited about my outfit, but I haven’t started on those yet.

The last costume, which is definitely my most detailed (and expensive) cosplay to date is Jyn Erso from Rogue One.  Anyone who knows me IRL knows that I fell in absolute love with that movie last December, and almost immediately after seeing it I decided I wanted to cosplay as Jyn.

jyn

The only completed part of her outfit I have right now is her gloves, which I bought on etsy.  I bought a kyber crystal necklace on etsy as well, but I want to rework the cord a bit.  My mom and I spent a good part of last Monday working on making her vest, and all that actually got sewn was putting the topstitching on the front.

costume 3

But, we got the pattern figured out and puzzled over lots of details, so hopefully we’ll make a lot of progress this week.

I’ve also been spending an exorbitant amount of time scrunched over a table with sandpaper and plastic.  I bought a few 3D printed kits of items for her outfit, including her weapons, and have been working on sanding them all down.

costume 1

I think all that’s left is sanding the final large pieces of her blaster, then I can actually start painting them.  Two of the blaster pieces warped a bit, though, so I’m going to try to un-warp them tonight before I start standing those.

And yeah, that’s the status of my cosplays for the moment.  Next update will hopefully have things a lot farther along.  I took a couple days off later this week to work on them, so here’s hoping for a productive long weekend!

Share your thoughts

