Card #108: Hooray! birthday card

Today has been absolutely gorgeous out!  I don’t think it hit 81 degrees like they were predicting, but then again, I wouldn’t know.  I’ve been inside all day working on Vacation Bible School prep.  At least I’ve got my windows open!

Yeah, it’s getting to be that time of year again where a large portion of my free time (including many Saturdays) will be taken up with VBS stuff, but I’m going to try to do a little better on my blog this year.  Last year for the month or so before VBS week, I took time off from my blog so I didn’t have the pressure of trying to get EVERYTHING accomplished.  I’m hoping this year, instead of taking time off, of getting some cards done ahead of time, so that the weeks that I’m working on set design and such on Saturdays, I can have cards and blog posts all prepped and ready to publish.  Maybe it’s cheating a little bit, but that way I’ll still have something new for my readers each week without having the time crunch of trying to get it done when I’m busy with other things.

That’s my plan anyway.  I’ve got a couple weeks to get extra cards done before my Saturdays are booked, so we’ll see if I can get that accomplished amidst my other stuff I need to get done.

Anyway, as far as this week goes, I think the card turned out pretty darn cute.  And I used up a set of embellishments from which I only had a couple left, so that felt good.

IMG_5691

I don’t know why I pulled these out, but I had decided I wanted to use embellishments instead of stamps again this week, so when I dug into my drawer, I just pulled out a file, and it happened to be the “birthday” file.  I found these and was like, “hey, if I use these two, I can actually use something all the way up!”  So that’s what I did.  🙂

I found a card layout on my Pinterest inspiration board that seemed like it would work pretty well with these stickers, and the candle paper was a scrap I had left over.  After deciding on colors, the card came together pretty quickly.  I added the gems at the end for a little extra interest and sparkle.

I did use a happy birthday stamp on the inside and outlined it with the purple on the front of the card.

And now I think it’s time to quit staring at my computer for the day and go do something else.  Like I should probably go find out if my renaissance costume still fits, since that’s what I’ll be wearing for VBS this year!  Gonna be fun times!

 

stamp used: “happy birthday” by Great Impressions

Share your thoughts

