Card #96: May the Force Be with You

The year 2016 ended on a bitter note for geeks world-wide as we had to say “good-bye” to our beloved space princess and general Carrie Fisher.  I will admit that her death hit me pretty hard.  I had recently had my love of Star Wars rekindled by Rogue One and was looking forward to binging through all the episodes after Christmas.  When I first heard that she had been hospitalized, I wasn’t too worried.  “People survive heart attacks all the time, she’ll be fine.” I thought to myself.  The next day when I saw that she had passed away, I was shocked.  And I cried myself to sleep, mourning the loss of one I didn’t personally know, but who meant so much to so many.

I always say that Lord of the Rings is my first geeky love.  The movies came out when I was in high school, and those films and books really opened me up to embracing my nerdiness.  But Star Wars was really my first introduction to the world of sci-fi and fantasy.  My parents had copies of the shows recorded on VHS tapes from when they had aired on television.  I can still picture those tapes and sitting around together watching the movies.  I didn’t enjoy sitting through “The Empire Strikes Back” because it was too sad, but “Return of the Jedi” always made me happy.  I was too young to really realize that Star Wars was “geeky” as it was just something I grew up with.  And Princess Leia was a strong, self-reliant, snarky, female bad-ass character that little girls could look up to and emulate.

So in remembrance of Carrie and my love of the franchise, I created a set of Star Wars cards on the Cricut this week.

img_5564

I tried to come up with a fitting quote to go with each symbol and had the Cricut write the words and cut out the symbols on the white cardstock.

img_5568img_5565

The Rebellion, Jedi Order, Galactic Empire, and Rogue symbols were simple clip art images I found online and imported into the Cricut design space.  After the white was cut out, it was just a simple matter of gluing it down on the colored cards.  They are pretty simple, but I like the impact of the cut-out color.

And as I raise a glass of blue space milk in a toast to Carrie, all I can say is, “thank you.”

img_5570

One thought on “Card #96: May the Force Be with You

  1. Helen January 8, 2017 / 12:15 am

    I admit I don’t understand this much, but I still love your creativeness and the fact that you enjoy it a lot.

    Like

Share your thoughts

