Card #95: Wintery Thank You

Welcome to the last post of 2016!  Crazy that I’ve been at this for two whole years!  And I know I really dropped the ball in December with posts.  I’m sorry, that’s just what the holidays did to me this year.  But here’s hoping that kicking off another year will reset everything and I’ll be back with weekly cards for you.

To finish off this year, I made a few thank you cards to send to people after Christmas.  I had actually intended on making Christmas cards with this stamp and technique, but I didn’t get that far.  And I didn’t need any more Christmas cards anyway.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  I did cross one person off my card list since I didn’t have enough cards or time to make more.   Ah well.  They’ll never know.  😉

img_5554

I picked up this weird pen on clearance at Joann’s last year after Christmas called a “snow marker.”  You’re supposed to apply it to your card, let it dry, then heat it with a heat gun and it gets all billowy.  I tried putting the snow ink down in different thicknesses to see what would happen.  The card on the right had a few piles of really thick ink and didn’t turn out as good as when it was spread a little thinner.

I know the cards are pretty boring, but I was in a bit of a hurry when I made them, so I didn’t have a whole lot of time to try to make them more interesting.  And the heat from the gun made the cardstock curl a bit, so it was kind of hard to get the cards to lay flat.  You can tell in the very first picture that they are still a little wrinkly.

I’m not really that sold on this pen/technique.  It looks kind of cool, but it’s a bit finicky and hard to get the ink where you want it in the thickness you want.  Then with the whole heat curling problem, it’s not really that high on my “let’s try this again!” list.  I’m glad I only paid clearance price for it!

And that wraps up 2016!  Here’s hoping for a blessed new year for each of you!  See you in the new year!

 

Stamps used: “Thank you” from Stampin’ Up set Many Thanks, “Vintage Pine Tree” from Stampabilities

Share your thoughts

