Card #89: October Challenge – Painting with Bubbles

This week’s card challenge was exactly that: a challenge.  I found this idea on Pinterest and thought it looked so fun!  I mean, who could resist painting with bubbles?  Everyone loves bubbles!  But, it was also my first fail in this challenge.

I found the idea on Martha Stewart’s website.  I didn’t have any craft paint, so I figured I could just use blue food coloring. I gathered my supplies and mixed up some blue solution.

Her instructions say to use a cup of water, half a cup of soap, and a LOT of paint, like over half a cup.  But her instructions are also for painting large sheets of butcher paper to make wrapping paper, so I figured I wouldn’t need as much.  I poured my blue soap water into a baking pan and attempted to blow bubbles in it with a straw.

As I had used a smaller amount of water, the solution was a bit shallow for blowing bubbles, so I had to tip the pan to get it deep enough to actually blow bubbles.  You’re supposed to lightly press the cardstock onto the bubbles so they pop on the cardstock.  This is what happened:

Practically nothing.  These are the same photo, but the one on the right is darkened a little so you can actually see that there are super-faint marks on the cardstock.  The dark blue corners are where I accidentally dipped the pieces into the water.

Ultimate fail.  I’m not sure why I thought I could be more clever than Martha Stewart when it came to crafts, but I did.  And I failed.  So I poured my blue soap water down the drain and lamented my failure.  I also had to put the project on hold for a couple days until I could get some blue paint (or more specifically, borrow some from my mom’s stash).  Two days later and I was ready to try again.

img_5073

Also, as I was now working with a medium that would actually stain a pan, I picked up a cheap disposable tin from Wal-mart instead of using my good kitchen dish.  I mixed up a cup of water and half a cup of soap.  I dumped a large glob of paint into the pan (still not as much as Martha says to) and poured in the soap solution to mix it in the pan instead of in my measuring cup.

img_5074

I experimented with blowing bubbles and using the bubbles created by stirring the solution with a spoon.  And I just wanted to practice a bit before I used my actual cardstock, so I used a few small scrap pieces to see how different methods worked.

img_5077

It took a little bit to get the hang of it, but eventually it started working pretty darn well.  I think it looked best when I made lot of little bubbles by stirring it, then blowing larger bubbles underneath so there was a combination of both sizes.  The little ones got more color towards the top, but the big bubbles kept it looking like actual bubbles instead of just random blue blobs.  These are my final results, in order of creation:

img_5082img_5083

As I imagined it would be, this was a very messy process.  There were blue splashes all over my counter.  I think I avoided getting any on the walls, though.  Thankfully.

I made six cards with these, all the same design.

I thought the bubble paper was perfect to go with the seahorse stamp.  I used the circle letters to try to make the greeting look like bubbles coming from the seahorse, and I added a little streak of iridescent glitter on the letters to try to enhance the bubble look a little.

img_5093

One more week of October, then I start making Christmas cards.  🙂  I know it’s bad, but right after October is over, I’m so in the mood for Christmas.  I know Thanksgiving is in between, but Thanksgiving doesn’t have the kind of music selection that Christmas does, and I’m always ready for Christmas carols by the end of October.  Do I give in and start listening to Christmas songs next month, or do I try to stay strong and resist until after Thanksgiving?  I’m not sure I’m that strong.

 

Stmaps used: Alphadots by Stampin Up, and the seahorse stamp has no name or copywrite on it

Share your thoughts

