Card #85: September Challenge – Birthday Candles

Now, before you get on my case for this post being a day late, let me explain my very good reason.  Today is my mom’s birthday (happy birthday, Mom!), and the cards I made this week were birthday cards, one of which I planned on giving to my mom.  So I didn’t want this post to go up until after I had given her her present and card.  So there, a very good reason for being late. 🙂

I tell you what, though, this week was a struggle.  I hadn’t originally planned on making birthday cards.  I was going to use a set of letter stamps from Stampin’ Up that I’ve never used before, but the letters were made of animals, and I just couldn’t get them to line up right, and I was struggling with making them look right.  I eventually gave up and put those stamps aside, actually adding that set to my pile to get rid of because I’m just not a fan and not sure how I’d ever use them.  But I had already glued some grassy paper to the base cards, so I struggled for a while to try to find some stamps that I had never used that could go with those cards.  No such luck.

So I completely switched gears and decided to accomplish two card needs in one by making birthday cards instead.  I’ll use those already-started cards eventually.

So these were the stamps I used this week instead:

img_5002

I wanted to use all sorts of different colors to match the paper I found, so I used all cardstock from my scrap pile to make four cards.

img_4993

I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to use both stamps.  I had originally thought to use a really light-colored ink for the background words.  But then I saw my VersaMark stamp pads and thought I’d give those a try.  Those stamp pads make kind of a watermark image on the cardstock, making the image a darker color of the cardstock you are stamping on.  Since I didn’t know how well they would work on the light cream cardstock I was using, I did a test sample with both.  I stamped the background with the regular VersaMark pad and with my dazzle version, which also adds a shimmer to the image.  Neither one showed up very well, but I put the balloon stamp over the top anyway, just to see, and I was so surprised at the cool effect it created.

img_4999

The VersaMark ink sort of repelled the top ink, so you can still see the words in the middle of the balloons.  I chose to use the dazzle pad because the words showed up a little better on the cream cardstock.  The balloon squares are attached with adhesive foam for dimension.

One more week in the “never-used stamps” challenge.  I am definitely going to use the stamps I have set aside for next week – no switching gears halfway.  I’m just not quite sure how to lay them out yet.  Guess you’ll have to check back on Saturday to find out what I do!

 

Stamps used: “Two-Step Stampin’ Mini Messages” from Stampin’ Up, “Happy Birthday” by Great Impressions

One thought on “Card #85: September Challenge – Birthday Candles

  1. Deb Pommier September 25, 2016 / 11:12 pm

    Thank you for the special card and all the effort to make it!

    Like

Share your thoughts

