Card #84: September Challenge: ♥ = Wedding

Ugh, this is why I don’t take naps.

My alarm went off at 4 o’clock this morning so I could go help set up a booth at the Sidewalk Arts Festival, and I didn’t get to bed until really late last night, on top of going to bed late all week, so I am overtired.  After wandering around the show until around noon, I came home and took a nap.  But the thing about me is, I can’t take a 20 minute nap like normal people.  It takes me way too long to fall asleep in the first place, then when I finally do I’m asleep for a good long while.  I set an alarm for 2, shut it off when it started singing, and stayed in bed until 3.  And now I just feel like my whole day is shot (besides still being tired), and I have no ambition to get anything done.  I’ll probably finish this, go grab some apple crisp, and watch Netflix for the rest of the evening.

Yay, weekend.  🙂

So, anyway, it’s September, which means a new challenge, which I’m really excited about.  This month, I’m calling it the “Never-Used Stamp Challenge.”  Each card I make, I will use at least one stamp that I’ve never used before.  I was digging through my stash last night and picked something for each week.  This is going to be really fun, and it’s going to be hard to pick which one to do next week!

To start off with, I decided to use these stamps that I got on clearance this spring at Hobby Lobby:

img_4979

When I saw them, I thought they were really fun and I had an idea right away of how to use them.  So I brought that idea to culmination this week and made these two wedding cards:

img_4966img_4970

I’m not extremely happy with the way the pink girls turned out, but that’s the fault of the stamp pad I used.  I think the design of the cards is really cute.

It’s kind of hard to tell in the pictures, but the striped cardstock in the first picture is actually kind of pearlescent.  I had harvested that piece years ago from a wedding invitation my family received.  Nothing like recycling!  🙂  And the silver on the second card is silver glitter, which again is kind of hard to see in the picture, but it is really pretty in person.  The rectangle with the stamps and stickers are held on with foam squares to give a little dimension, and I drew the plus and equal signs on with a silver metallic pen.  The embellishments are from Jolee’s boutique “Engagement Rings” set.

Both cards have the Congratulations stamp on the inside.  If I could do it over, I think I would do the simple round corners on both cards and not the fancy ones on the glittery card.  I don’t know, but I think the fancy cut kind of distracts a bit from the stamps.

 

 

My brain really isn’t working anymore for writing more.  So I’m going to sign off.  See you next week for the second part of the Never-Used Stamp Challenge!

 

Stamps used: “His”, “Hers”, and “Cursive Congratulations” by Stampabilities, and “Puny Heart” (I think) from Stampendous

 

Share your thoughts

