Card #81: Life Events Theme – Birthday

Welcome to this week’s card post.  As we are going in order of life events, after you are born (last week’s card), the next major life event would be having some birthdays.  So this week I made a few birthday cards.  I was digging through my scraps of patterned paper and found a couple pieces of owl paper.  I was looking for something more “party” themed, but when I found those, I decided they were really cute and would be fun to use on birthday cards.  I ended up making four cards, all the same design, pulling colors from the owl paper.

IMG_4760

Each card uses the same four colors of cardstock, just in different spots, so no two are alike.

IMG_4769IMG_4766

I added the little star brads from my stash to add a little extra touch of fun.

The sentiments on the cards were actually done with the Cricut machine.  I figured it was time to try using the marker attachment that I purchased, and since I didn’t have any sentiment stamps that were owl-appropriate, I decided to make my own.  It took a couple tries to figure out how to make the writing function work properly, as well as a reboot of my computer to get the update to Design Space working right, but I got it done, and I’m pleased with the results.  The only thing I was really disappointed in was that I was only able to find two fonts that would work with the writing function without paying for more.  Since I don’t have Cricut Access right now, my choices were very limited.  But this font seemed to go with the card well enough.

IMG_4761

I did put a Happy Birthday stamp inside all of the cards as well.

I hope you enjoyed this week’s card.  It was fun to make and use some cute paper like this.  But I have a long list of stuff I hope to accomplish today, so I better get to it!

 

Stamp used: “Happy Birthday” by Great Impressions

Share your thoughts

