Card #80: Life Events Theme – Baby Shower

I know I’m getting this week’s post up late, but just be glad I’m getting it up at all.  I spent all afternoon out at my folks’ quilting a quilt and my eyes are all buggy and the last thing I want to do is stare at my computer screen to write a post.  But I didn’t get it done before I went out there with the intention of writing it tonight, so here I am, writing it.  I did take the pictures before I left, though, so at least that got done in daylight!

So aside from the anniversary card last week, I’m going to try to go in a life-chronological order for making the event cards for the theme this month.  So, to start off, I did a baby shower card, since we all start out as babies.  I could have done a baby card, but I had these sticker sets from Jolee’s that were a pregnancy set of stickers that I wanted to use.  And we all start off pre-born anyway, so it works.

I got two sticker sets on clearance for 50 cents at Joanns a couple years ago, with the intention of making cards with them.  I actually made two cards this week, same style, to use up the stickers.  I didn’t use them all, because, well, one of them was a scale.  I mean, seriously?  A scale?  Everybody knows you don’t comment on a woman’s weight, especially when she’s pregnant!  So that sticker from each set is in the garbage.  🙂

 

I designed the layout to make it look like the pregnant lady was looking at file folders of all the different things she’ll have to deal with while she’s getting ready for the baby.  Man, there was a lot of measuring and calculating to this card!  But I think it turned out pretty cute.  And I wanted to make it gender-neutral since a lot of people choose not to find out what they’re having, so this way the card could be for either a boy or girl.

And now I think I’m going to go munch a bit of popcorn and just sit for a while.  My brain is kinda fried from staring all afternoon at a needle going up and down, up and down, up and down, up and … oh, sorry.  Good night!

stamp used: “Congratulations 05” by Stampabilities

Share your thoughts

