Card #74: From the Heart

Happy June!  It’s a new month, which means a new challenge for myself in making my weekly cards.  A couple years ago, when my mom and I were garage saling, I bought a box full of random envelopes that I have been slowly using as I make cards.  A few weeks ago, I decided to sort through them and organize them by color and size.  Now, that may sound weird, but I’ve always loved organizing and sorting things.  I wish I had remembered to take a picture of the box before I sorted them, but here is my full box of envelopes after sorting:

IMG_2782

Over the past year and a half with making cards, the box isn’t nearly as tightly-packed as it used to be, but it is still very full!

Obviously, the majority of the envelopes are white or off-white, but there are quite a few colored ones as well.  In my sorting, I found several sets of either the same color and size of envelope or sets of differently-decorated envelopes, which inspired my challenge for the month.  This month, I’m going to use those sets of envelopes and make sets of cards instead of just one card a week.  This challenge will use up more envelopes and card materials than just one card, so that’s a plus for my ultimate goal of using things up.  And in years past, for example when I have made Christmas cards, I’ve always made several of the same card, which is kind of nice.  I mean, when you go through the work of figuring out colors and dimensions of cuts and such, it’s nice to do more than one of the design, to make the mental work a little more productive.  Some weeks will be just multiples of the exact same card, and other weeks will be coordinating sets, where the cards will obviously be a set but they won’t be the exact same.

So for this first week of cards, this is the envelope I’m using:

IMG_2790

There were actually four of this envelope and I was going to use them all, but I didn’t have enough of one of the materials I used to do four, so I only made three.

All the cards this week are the same.  I know the pinks in the two pictures look a bit different, but they really are the same cards.  My camera was apparently having issues.  The heart vellum paper is layered over a piece of the pink cardstock (and is also the material I ran out of to make the fourth card).  I used a couple strips of the pink over the top to hide the glue holding the vellum down and to frame it out.  I used the Cricut to cut out the pink and black hearts, which are just glued together and embellished with a few crystal stickers.  I had thought about running to Hobby Lobby because all their 3D stickers were on sale this week and I didn’t really have anything that would be a nice addition to the card, but I decided against it and made the hearts instead, and I really like how it turned out.  Plus it has the bonus of actually using up my own materials instead of buying more, so hooray for that!   The inside of the cards are blank, so they could be used as a thank you card or just a nice note.

I’m excited for this month’s challenge.  I think it will be a great way to use stuff up (the pink and black cardstock pieces were from my scrap bin).  I’ve already got the sets of envelopes for each week set aside and ideas are brewing for some of them.  But right now I need to go work on a Shutterfly photo book and get that done before my free book code expires!

 

Stamp used: “From the Heart” stamp from an OLD Stampin’ Up set that I got at a garage sale and don’t know the name of.  Sorry!

2 thoughts on “Card #74: From the Heart

  1. Helen June 4, 2016 / 5:59 pm

    I love your cards. Would you pick about 20, they can be variety blank, or duplicate that’s ok. You can send them &include postage. Don’t know when we’ll get down there. Send a bill.

    Like

  2. Helen June 4, 2016 / 6:03 pm

    Thank you, And I forgot to say please. Love yah😎😎😎😎😎love my pillow that looks like this.

    Like

Share your thoughts

