Card #70: Herringbone

Happy May!

The sun is shining, the sky is clear, my window is open so I can hear the birds singing…

I think Spring is finally here to stay.

And as it is a new month, that means it’s time for a new challenge in my quest to use up some of my stash of papercrafting supplies.  I know it doesn’t help my cause when I purchase more supplies at garage sales, but at least I’m trying!  And this month’s challenge (as well as next month’s) is definitely going to help a little.  My challenge this month is to only use cardstock from my scrap bin.  Leftovers from other projects that I’ve done that have been shoved in a drawer, very rarely to be used again.

IMG_2545

Even the base card I start with has to come from my scraps, which means basically all my cards this month will be the 4.25 by 5.5 size, but that’s ok.  I have several pieces that will give me some choice as to what kind of colors I want to use for the base card, and then everything else is fair game.  I’m excited to see what I come up with.  I’ve pinned a few videos about using up scraps on my “Card Inspiration” board on Pinterest that I want to watch to get some ideas.

 

This is the card for the week.  The original idea I saw for this was done with washi tape, which was cool because it had more pattern to it, but I like the way this looks, too, especially with the bright colors.  And this way I could use the little word stickers on the actual design and you can still see them.  The stickers say “Recharge Your Batteries” and were from a set of words I got at a garage sale years ago.  I may have to do some more cards with this design with other sets of words like this, because I think it’s really cute how the words fit onto the layout.

I think a lot of my cards this month will be stripe-based in the design because I have so much scrap that’s just strips of cardstock.  But there are lots of random chunks, too, so I don’t know.  I guess we’ll just have to find out together

Share your thoughts

