Card #68: Elegant Graduation

Another short post this week.

The last color scheme from the mat stack I’ve been working on all month is black and silver.  It’s very elegant, so the card had to be elegant as well.  I had found some cool rhinestone and sparkly brads that would look really good with this cardstock, but the layout design I found on Pinterest that I wanted to use wasn’t really conducive to using them, so I’ll have to try them another time.

I figured with graduation season coming up shortly, it would be a good idea to make a card or two, in case there are any kids I know that are graduating.

 

The sentiment is from a vellum pack I have, and the graduation cap was from a garage sale purchase.  I bought a whole pack of random, miscellaneous embellishments at a sale once, and there were a bunch of baby boy decorations and a whole bunch of graduation decorations.  Quite the interesting combination.  I like how the hat gives a little bit of cheeky flair to the otherwise very elegant, sparkly card, but it’s still subtle and not overly-obnoxious.

The only thing I don’t like is that my vellum tape has yellowed and you can see that through the sentiment on the white square.  😦  I hate to throw it out and get new, though, because the roll is still very large as I don’t use it all that much.

Not sure what I’m going to do next week as I have used all the different color schemes from the mat stack now.  I guess we’ll find out together!

Share your thoughts

