Card #52: Christmas Thank You

Wow, card number 52.  Or at least card post number 52; I know I’ve made more than 52 cards throughout the course of this year.  I can hardly believe I’ve been at this for a whole year!  First off, let me say “thank you” for sticking with me through this project.  I’ve had a lot of fun making all the cards and sharing them with you, as well as a few other projects I’ve worked on.  I’m pretty proud of myself for sticking this out and never missing a week.  There were a few close calls, but I never missed.

I have to admit, though, I haven’t used up as much of my papercrafting supply as I thought I would.  I still have drawers and containers full of supplies!  So, I’m going to continue this project of making cards every week at least for another year.  I’m hoping I’ll get more other craft projects done as well that I can share with you, but at least I will continue with the weekly card.  Hope you don’t mind.  🙂

Now, on to this week’s card(s).  Christmas has come and gone again, and with that comes the time to send thank you cards for all the thoughtful presents that we were given.  My Christmas sticker/embellishment folder in my file cabinet is the most overflowing folder, so I wanted to try to use up a few more embellishments before the holiday season was completely over.  I found three different sheets of snowflakes to use.  Well, I found a few more than that, but these three seemed like they would jive the best for doing the same card layout.  I found this layout on Pinterest and liked the simplicity and the way it framed out the “thank you” message.

IMG_1920

(Btw, I apologize for the not-so-great photos this week.  The lighting in my apartment is appalling for taking decent nighttime shots and this is the best editing I can do in Photoshop with my limited knowledge of the program.  I really need to set aside time to go through the class I bought for it!)

IMG_1930

 

I used a gold pigment ink on the gold card and accidentally touched it before it was dry so the “Thank” smudged a little.  I tried to re-stamp it just on the first letter but didn’t get it lined up perfectly.  At least you can still read it.  I think the gold one is my favorite, followed by the blue one on the right.  I know the white snowflakes don’t show up quite as well, but they have little gems inside them and they just look more delicate than the blue one on the left.  If I had been thinking more before placing the stickers, I would have done one larger blue snowflake in the middle and put the smaller simpler ones on each side.

Even though I didn’t use up any of my snowflake sticker sheets, it felt good to use a few again.  With the cards the past couple months mainly focusing on using stamp sets I haven’t before, I kind of got away from using more of my embellishments.  Maybe next year’s Christmas cards should all have to use some kind of embellishment and not rely on using stamps at all.  Hmm, think I’ll remember that idea in a year?  Someone remind me.

I hope you have a great rest of 2015 and blessings to you in the coming year!  See you in 2016!

 

Stamps used: “Thank You” from Stampin’ Up set “Many Thanks”, border dots from Heidi Grace Designs clear stamps “Holiday Sampler” set

Share your thoughts

