Card #49: Do You Wanna Build a Snowman?

Yes, I was watching Frozen while making this card last night.  It seemed appropriate, due to the nature of the card.  And honestly, I think that’s the most I’ve ever not watched that movie while it’s playing.  Some movies are just very distracting to have playing while you’re trying to work.  And no matter what, you have to stop and watch during “Let It Go.”  Just sayin’…

IMG_1701

IMG_1703

I had a lot of fun making this card.  I had a general idea of what I wanted it to look like, but I went onto Pinterest just to see what other people have done with this stamp set, and I incorporated a few of the ideas I found.  Each piece of the snowman was stamped individually and painstakingly cut out.  That was the most time-consuming part of this whole card.  Not to mention the black ink I used smeared, so I had to re-stamp and re-cut a few pieces.  Grr.  Wasn’t I saying something about needing to buy a new black stamp pad last week?

It’s kind of hard to tell in the pictures, but I did put some glitter along the top of the torn edges of the snowbanks.  It really adds a nice, subtle touch to the card.  And the little sparkly “snowflakes” on the blue background were made with the VersaMark Dazzle stamp pad.  I have used the regular VersaMark pad before, which makes a darker image of the same color as your cardstock, and I’ve really liked the effect, so when I saw the Dazzle pad that adds a bit of sparkle to the image, I had to try it!  I really love the way it turned out.  It was a bit difficult to clean off the stamp, though, so that’s the only downside.

The stick for the sign the snowman is holding is just a toothpick, which I glued onto the card with gel superglue.  I probably could have used a different kind of glue, but I’m a bit impatient when it comes to waiting for glue to set.  Kind of like watching paint dry.  The sign is attached with mounting foam to give a little dimension and to keep the cardstock from having a funny ridge down the middle from the toothpick.

I’m not sure why, but I think this is one of my favorite Christmas cards I’ve made this year.  It was very time-consuming and kind of a pain to cut out each individual piece, so I wouldn’t make them in bulk if I had a lot of cards to make.  I’d try a different way that would not require scissors!  But for a one-off card?  Super cute and fun!

Can you believe it’s only two weeks from today until Christmas?!  Yikes!  I need to finish my shopping!

Stamps used: snowman pieces from Stampin’ Up set “Cold Play,” background stamp from Stampin’ Up set “Itty Bitty Backgrounds,” Merry Christmas stamp from Stampabilities

Share your thoughts

