Candle Holder Drama

As I’ve shared before, one of the things that I get to do with my volunteering at the Alpha Center is to make the thank you gifts for our various speakers that come in and share during the Life Skills Class.  Last year for the fall session of class, I made Christmas ornaments.  This year, I decided to try to stick to something a little more “fall-ish”, so I decided to decorate candle holders and get little votive candles to go with them.  Between searching online and browsing through Hobby Lobby, I decided to try using Krylon Glitter Blast to decorate the plain glass votive holders that I got.

glitter

Now, if you’ve ever used this stuff, you probably know where this is going.  Yes, I had read scores of stories and reviews online, warning me against attempting this and predicting the glittery demise of my attempt, but, to quote the Doctor, “I am and always will be the optimist. The hoper of far-flung hopes and the dreamer of improbable dreams.”  I was bound and determined to make this work.  Although, I was also a tad practical and held off on purchasing the sealer spray until I knew for sure it would work.

My original plan was to mask off a few spots with leaf stickers and spray the whole holder with the glitter spray.  But then I found online where someone else attempted the same thing and only sprayed a ring of glitter around the top of the holders.  This seemed a lot more practical and wouldn’t use as much spray per holder, so I went about and covered most of the holders with blue painters tape, leaving a small strip about half an inch wide across the top for the glitter.

IMG_0031

Here they are in all their blue glory, just waiting to be bedazzled with beautiful orange glitter!

IMG_0030
obligatory shot of my adorable assistant

I did read several stories of how the nozzles on these cans of spray would stick while spraying and basically drain the entire bottle and you couldn’t make it stop, so I did have a couple grocery sacks on hand, just in case that was my fate as well.  I shook that bottle according to the instructions on the back, and got to spraying.

IMG_0034

As you can see, I only got about half of my carefully-taped holders sprayed before I ran out of glitter.  And over 50% of said glitter ended up on my cardboard instead of on the votives.  That certainly wasn’t for lack of trying to get it on the glass!  It was just super-hard to spray it in the right spot!  Needless to say, less than impressed.

IMG_0035

By the time I ran out of glitter, the holders weren’t as thickly covered as the first ones either.

IMG_0098

So, now I had a decision to make.  I could go buy another can of this stuff and attempt this madness all over again, or I could try a different idea and see if that worked any better.  I opted for option two.  So when I went back to Hobby Lobby to pick up a can of the glitter sealer spray (since it did technically work and I didn’t want those few precious sparkly holders to lose all their glitter), I picked up a can of frosted glass spray as well.  “Surely,” I thought, “this will work better!”

Heh, a-heh.  Yeah, sure.

IMG_0036

For this second attempt at beautiful candle holders, I undid all my carefully-taped masking and instead did my original idea of masking off a bit of the holder with leaf stickers, and sprayed a couple coats with the frosted glass spray.

IMG_0037

And I’ll admit, right now, they look pretty good!  That is, until I picked one up, after it was dry mind you, and rubbed on it just a little with my finger, and the paint rubbed right off!  Sigh.  So, I decided to seal them with a matte clear coat…

IMG_0042

…which in essence basically made the frosted paint look like crap.  I took the stickers off one of the holders, and that didn’t help it to look so great, so, back to my parents’ driveway they went for another coat of frosted paint.  I was getting worried by this point, because I didn’t have a whole lot of that spray paint left, and by golly I was NOT going to purchase ANOTHER can of paint for this project!

So, they got I think 2 more thin coats of paint and I took the stickers off, deciding that this was enough.  And all in all, I guess they didn’t turn out too bad.

IMG_0092

Ask me if I’d ever use Krylon glitter blast again and I’d laugh at you.  I would attempt another project with the frosted spray paint, but maybe try a different brand in the hopes that it would be a bit more sturdy.

I guess, at the end of the day, they turned out ok.  And since our speakers don’t really expect anything for their time anyway, they are surprised and grateful for the little token of our appreciation, no matter what it is.

Share your thoughts

