Card #43: Ice Crystals

*runs in*

Guys!  Lookit, lookit!

IMG_0895

Aren’t these the cutest Christmas stamps ever?!  I mean, yeah, the Rudolph ones from last year were cute and all, but seriously?  Who doesn’t love the classic Charlie Brown Christmas, with its sad little tree, dry sarcastic wit, and the true meaning of Christmas?  I got all giddy when I saw that these were coming out this year and when a coworker told me the Lewis drugstore that I drive by everyday had them in stock (after I had stopped the week before and they didn’t have them yet), I totally had to stop in and pick some up this week.  They make me want to dig out the Christmas tree and belt “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” at the top of my lungs!

Anywhoo…

I made another blue snowflake card this week.  I don’t know why, but my brain seems to say that most Christmas cards should either be red and green, or blue.  I guess maybe I’m just stuck in a rut and need to think a little more creatively or something.  I think that’s one reason why I like Pinterest so much.  There are so many other ideas and designs out there that I would never have thought of on my own, but they are really good ideas.

IMG_0897

IMG_0903

This design is pulled straight out of my card recipe book.  When I saw it in the book, I remembered that I had bought those metal frame things for another project that never panned out.  I’ve had one sitting on my desk for a few weeks, waiting until I got around to making this card.  The blue snowflake paper was leftover from a scrapbook page and I think I got the snowflake gem at Hobby Lobby last year.

The blue paper is adhered to the blue cardstock with sticky squares.  I attached the little white piece to the metal frame with some super glue because I didn’t want to wait around for a white craft glue to dry.  Yeah, I’m impatient like that.  The silver cord is actually tied together around the back of the blue cardstock, and I also taped it down on each side to keep the cords from sliding up and down along the edge of the card.  Then the whole thing got attached to the white base card with adhesive squares.  This morning I went back and added a small piece of mounting foam to the frame to keep it from moving.  I was worried that the weight of the frame would stretch the cord and make it sag, so the foam will keep it in place nicely.

Well, my Dragon Con photo books aren’t going to design themselves.  I don’t have a lot left on my to-do list for the week, but those are going to take the most time, so I better get to work.  Talk to you in November!

Seriously, November?  Where has the year gone?!

stamps used: “Merry Christmas” from the Stampin’ Up set Come to Bethlehem

Share your thoughts

