Card #42: Vintage Christmas

Happy Saturday!  I’m looking outside my window and seeing all sorts of gorgeous reds and oranges in the leaves on the trees and piled on the ground.  I’m thinking the heavy rain we got yesterday knocked a ton of leaves down.  Birds and squirrels are flitting all over the yard looking for morsels to eat or stock up for the coming cold.  And the predicted high for today is only 59 degrees.  It definitely makes me aware that winter is coming.

And so is Christmas!  In exactly two months from tomorrow, to be precise.  Yikes!  I’d say let’s not think about that yet, but that would completely go against my cards for the past month.  I guess resistance is futile, so we might as well look forward to it.

IMG_0887

IMG_0892

IMG_0891

The colors I used this week seemed very vintage to me, or slightly Victorian.  I have had this little set of ornament stamps for a while so I decided to give them a whirl this week.  I was happily surprised when I found the scrap piece of ornament paper in my box that fit with my stamps quite well.  And I was even happier when I was digging through my stamp pads and found the three colors that matched.  The ribbon border was a long border sticker that I had.  It matches better in person than I can make it look on my computer for some reason.  Some colors are just hard to photograph accurately, you know?  I adhered the ornament squares with some mounting foam to give it a little dimension  I wish I could have used two layers to make it even more 3D, but I ran out of foam.  Since the base card is such a dark color, I added a lighter piece inside for the Merry Christmas stamp and to be able to write a little greeting that will actually be visible.

I know this is short and sweet this week, but I have an event to go to this afternoon for a little while and I’m finally planning on sitting down and editing my pictures from Dragon Con.  I’ve put that off far too long, so it’s time to get to work on it!

Stamps used: ornament set from Close to my Heart; Merry Christmas stamp from Stampin’ Up, copyright 1993

Share your thoughts

