Card #35: Nerds and TARDIS’s

My neighbors are chopping down trees right now, or at least lots of large branches, and the chainsaw is very distracting…  Just thought I’d throw that out there.

So I know last week I said that I should make a get-well card or two this week for my stash, but I didn’t.  My brain has been fully engaged in geek-mode for a few weeks as the date for my departure for Dragon Con looms ever closer (TOMORROW!!!! YAY!!).  So when I was digging for my “get well” stamp and I came across my “i ♥ nerds” stamp again, I decided to forgo the original idea and make a geeky card again this week.  Next week I’ll get to the get well cards, maybe.  No promises.

IMG_0126

IMG_0133
I made the base card from a sheet of gray cardstock from the DCWV 12×12 Black Currant stack.  The nice thing about using cardstock from those stacks for the base of the card is that the back of the cardstock is white, so the inside of the card is nice and blank.  I’m going to have to remember to peruse those stacks when making cards.  This was the first time I have done that, and it’s pretty slick!  The blue star paper I believe was from a pack of 10 textured scrapbooking papers I picked up on clearance at Hobby Lobby.  Hooray for clearance shopping!  The “i ♥ nerds” stamp is from Stampabilites, also picked up on clearance at Hobby Lobby.  The TARDIS stamp I got online at this etsy store.

I stamped the TARDIS on a piece of scrap black cardstock with an embossing ink and used silver embossing powder on it.  I was going to just stamp it with a silver stamp pad, but discovered that my collection of stamp pads is tragically lacking a silver ink pad!  I must rectify that situation soon.  But, being in a bit of a hurry to get the card done early this week (did I mention I was leaving TOMORROW?!), I made due with what I had.  I thought about using a white pigment ink, but my mind was set on silver because it matched so much better, so I tried embossing again.  It’s not the crispest image, to be sure, but I do like how it mimics the embossed stars on the blue paper.  Everything is attached with adhesive squares, even the ribbon.  That’s also the first time I’ve tried that, and it seems to work pretty well.  Using the squares instead of a type of glue eliminated the inevitable wrinkling on the ribbon that glue causes.

I know every time I’ve made a card with the “i ♥ nerds” stamp, the cards have all been Doctor Who themed.  I’m secretly hoping that someone at the convention this weekend is selling rubber stamps with other geeky images so I can make a few different kinds of designs instead of just using the TARDIS stamp again and again.  Otherwise I may just have to go back to etsy and browse nerdy stamps.  Not that that’s not fun or anything.  🙂

Well, I have a bunch of stuff to get done today before I leave TOMORROW(!), so I should get going.  See you next week!

Share your thoughts

