Card #34: Bloom

My brain is so scattered right now.  Well, no, that’s not entirely true.  It’s very focused, just not on card making or blogging.  It’s very focused on the fact that Dragon Con starts in one week and I’m going this year!  Last year when I kind of out of the blue decided to go to New Zealand, it was a rather short blur of time from when I decided to go to when I actually went that I didn’t have a lot of time to freak out about it.  And that was great and it was an amazing trip with my mom.  This trip to Atlanta for Dragon Con, though, I’ve been planning since the beginning of the year and as a result have had a lot of time to think about it, and as the date gets closer, I find myself freaking out a bit more each day.

All that to say, I wasn’t very focused on my card this week.  And I’ll be perfectly honest, I don’t really like the way it turned out.  I was digging through my file drawer of embellishments and thinking about how it’s so full that the files in the back aren’t staying hooked like they should, so I decided I needed to use some this week.  I found a pack  of embellishments that contained 3 items and thought, “hey, this only has 3 things in it, I can use the whole thing up!”  And I did.  But I don’t really like the card.

Also, after I was done with it, I kicked myself because I really could have used a “get well soon” card this week and should have made one of those instead of this one!  I might have to make one or two of those next week so I have a couple on hand for when I need them.

IMG_0121
The embellishment set that I used is the “In Bloom” set from Remember When and the background is stamped with a filigree background stamp from Stampin’ Up.  I first tried to stamp it on the white base card so there wouldn’t be so much purple, but didn’t get the stamp centered on the card right, so there was about an inch of blank white space on the top (I told you I wasn’t focused on card-making!).  So I stamped it on the purple and glued that on before adding the stickers.  I did stamp the image on a white piece of scratch paper first before stamping it onto the cardstock so the image wouldn’t be as dark and bold.  That way the embellishments don’t get lost in the pattern of the stamp.  The top sticker with the sentiment I also layered on a couple different shades of purple cardstock so it would stand out a bit more.

Well, busy day with lots of stuff to do tomorrow, so I’m going to sign off.  I’ll have to get in gear next week and get my card done early.  Can’t skip a week, even for a big trip!

Share your thoughts

