Card #30: Flowers flowers flowers!

You know, when I was a kid (read: immature, selfish, dumb), I got annoyed when my parents would say they were turning the air conditioning off at night and opening the windows.  I HAD to have my door closed when I slept, so my room would get kind of stuffy because I didn’t get any cross-breeze.  Now that I am an adult (read: mature, much wiser) I totally get it.  Save money on electricity, air out the house, get nice fresh cooler air, etc.  So, yeah, finally growing up.

Although, I’m still not so mature that I’m not trying to justify going to Build-A-Bear and getting one of these fellows to keep my Jedi bear company:

han solo bear

Anyway, that had absolutely nothing with today’s cards.  Sorry for the random ramble.

Does anyone remember these Ideals magazines?

IMG_0028

Old magazines (mine have copyrights from the 50’s and 60’s) that were full of pretty pictures, poems, stories, and inspirational quotes.  They hearken back to a simpler time where family came first, people were proud to be Americans, and it was still cool to print Bible passages in publications.  Basically, they lived up to their name of Ideals.

Well, I got a bunch of these magazines from a friend’s garage sale with the intent of somehow crafting with them.  They’ve spent the last year or so in a box, just waiting for the day I’d pull them out of their stuffy existence and give them new life.  I spent a good portion of Wednesday evening this week browsing through a few of them, pulling out some shorter poems that would fit on greeting cards.  I embellished them all with a set of 3-D flower stickers that I got at Joann’s a long time ago.

IMG_0022

IMG_0019

IMG_0017

After I had already glued down the background cardstocks, I wished I had done a little something to give them some pattern, but by then it was too late.  I guess the simplicity is nice, though, as it makes the words and flowers stand out more.  For the first two cards I ripped the magazine paper by hand and used a stamp pad to stain the rough edges a little.  You wouldn’t believe how long that took to make look good!  I have a lot of scraps in my garbage that I tested that on before I dared try it on the actual poems.  And I know the magazine paper on the last card doesn’t match the cardstock as well as the other two, but again, the card was already glued together, so I was committed.  I think sticking with the whiter flowers instead of using the lavender makes it look ok.

Well, I have a few things to get done before I head out to the fair for a few hours this afternoon.  Have a great rest of your weekend!

Share your thoughts

