Card #21: Wedding Card

May is not only a month full of graduations, it’s also a VERY popular month during which to get married.  I went to a wedding last weekend of a couple fairly new friends, and it was fantastic.  The pastor referenced The Princess Bride and Doctor Who during his message (even pulling a sonic screwdriver from his suit pocket!), and the groom and bride both wore Converse All-Star sneakers with their formal attire.  And today one of my best friends from my early 20’s is getting married in Wisconsin.  Sadly, I didn’t get to go to his wedding, but they are having a reception here in a couple weeks.

So, as I was trying to decide what kind of card to make this week, I was browsing through my drawer of embellishments, saw my “love” file, and remembered, hey, I need a card for them!  I hope my friend doesn’t read my blog, at least this week, or he’ll know what card he’s getting.  Oh well, it’s the gift that matters more anyway, right?  Lol!

IMG_9140

IMG_9144

I’m not sure why I like the sparkly, fancy silver paper with the kind of grunge-looking heart paper, but I do.  I was going to use some scraps of pretty, white paper that had a satin fabric design on it, but they just weren’t big enough to do anything with.  The heart paper was leftover from a scrapbook page, I believe, and I scavenged the silver wavy stuff from an old invitation my family had received in the mail.  No, I am not above scavenging like that.  As long as it looks good and is reusable, might as well!  The white ribbon was a last-minute addition, actually added while writing this post, because the joint between the two papers just looked awkward.  I used a spray adhesive to tack down the ribbon and the pictures were taken while the glue was still wet, so I’m hoping it gets a little less see-through once it’s dry.  The ringbearer pillow is from a Jolee’s Boutique collection I picked up on clearance at Joanns for a buck.  I think I’ve said this before, but I love clearance shopping.  🙂  Inside, the card has a simple “congratulations” stamp in black.

If you do read this, Joe, congratulations to you and Katy, and I can’t wait to see you in a couple weeks!

One thought on “Card #21: Wedding Card

  1. Deb (Mom) May 30, 2015 / 11:04 pm

    I like it. Wanna make a card for us to give, too? 😉

    Like

Share your thoughts

