Card #11: Happy Spring

Happy first full day of Spring!  Even though yesterday sure felt more like spring, what with the 60+ degree weather and beauteous sunshine.  But I don’t care.  Today is one of those rare days where I actually don’t have to go anywhere!  So I get to spend the day working on projects.  I was thinking yesterday, someone please tell me I’m not the only crafter out there who sees an inspiration or comes up with an idea and gets all excited and buys the materials necessary to complete said project, only to tuck it away in the supply closet and never actually get to it.  I’ve got so much stuff in my little craft cupboard that I really can’t fit much else into it.  I was thinking, in addition to making a card every week this year to use up some of my paper crafting supplies, I should chose one project a month that I have stuff for and actually get it done.  Clear out some space in my cupboard for new ideas and inspirations.  🙂  I wish I had thought of this back in January, but it’s never too late to start, right?  Anyway, we’ll see if that actually happens or not.

So, on to this week’s card.  This is another layout design I found on Pinterest that I really liked and pinned to my “card inspiration” board.  The prospect of spring and warmer weather coming inspired the color and embellishment choices

IMG_8954

IMG_8956

In retrospect, I should have gone with my first instinct and cut the yellow strips at half an inch instead of three-quarters.  Oh well.  I was originally going to use actual ribbon, but I only had 3 yellow ribbons that would work.  So I used up some paper scraps instead.  The daisy is from an embellishment sheet I believe from Michaels that I’ve had for ages.  And the stamp is also from Michaels, albeit in an altered state.  It used to have some flower thing above the sentiment that I didn’t like, so I sliced that off with an exacto knife and my dad cut the wood block smaller on his scroll saw.  Now it’s a cute little sentiment that can be used practically anywhere.

Well, my list of projects to work on today is about as long as my arm, so I think I’m going to go feed my squirrels (yes, I claim them as mine now even though they are just the local wild ones) and get to work.

One thought on “Card #11: Happy Spring

  1. Deb (Mom) March 21, 2015 / 1:05 pm

    I like it!

    Like

Share your thoughts

