Card #9: Feminine Floral design

I know some areas of the country have been and are experiencing rather nasty weather the last few days, but I am so LOVING the warmer weather we’re getting right now in the midwest.  The sun is shining, the snow is melting, the lighter coats are getting dug out of the closet, and I think I can see the end of the very long winter tunnel.  Hard to believe it’s March already.

I found the design for this week’s card on Pinterest.  That website is such a time-sucking vortex.  I was browsing for other stuff and came across this layout and was like, “I have to do that!”  It sure seemed simple enough, but when I got around to making the card, finding enough matching pieces for the design turned out to be a bigger challenge than I thought it would be.

I’ve decided that all the cards I make during March are going to use embellishments from the expanding file-folder I have full of them. The poor folder is almost bursting at the seems and I literally cannot get it completely latched. Much of what is in it was picked up on clearance at various craft stores or are leftovers from other projects. But some of it seriously needs to get used, so March is dedicated to using a few bits of it up.

You’ll  also notice that the cards I make have no standard size or shape.  Quite a few so far have been the general 4.25 by 5.5 inch cards, but several have been more random.  I picked up a box of miscellaneous envelopes at a garage sale last year and will be trying to use up several of those throughout the year as well.

IMG_8920

IMG_8931

The patterned cardstock pieces were both from a mat stack I picked up on sale at Joanns and the flower was part of a clearance purchase, I believe also from Joanns.  The stamped greeting is from the Stampin’ Up set Small Script.  See how simple the design is?  Yet finding enough coordinating pieces was difficult.  I cut several pieces of cardstock that I didn’t use as I was mapping out the layout.  They just got added to my collection of scrap pieces to use at a future time.

Well, that’s it for this week.  My computer desk is a mess and I’ve got costume bits scattered all over my living room, so as much as I would like to just go outside and enjoy the weather, I should probably go do something productive with the rest of my afternoon.

2 thoughts on “Card #9: Feminine Floral design

  1. Deb (Mom) March 8, 2015 / 12:17 am

    very pretty!

    Like

  2. Hannah Reimer March 9, 2015 / 10:36 pm

    I recognize that mat stack. I used it a lot when I was focusing on paper crafts. I have a ton of paper-crafting stuff I don’t need anymore if you’d care to take it off my hands. Anyway, I love the card.

    Like

Share your thoughts

