Card #8: Baby Shower Invite

First of all, let me say thank you to the sweet soul who anonymously sent me this chocolate bar in response to the “Send Chocolate” card I made a couple weeks ago:

IMG_8917

It certainly was a nice surprise, and I will savor every bite of the delectable dark chocolate.  Somebody obviously knows my favorite kind!

Now, the story behind this week’s card is a little different.  One opportunity that I am very blessed to have is the chance to volunteer each week at the Alpha Center, our local pro-life crisis pregnancy center.  We help young women and men who are facing unplanned pregnancies and give them opportunities and resources to help them through their pregnancies and with the children after.  I help each week during the Life Skills classes, where the students learn valuable skills and knowledge on how to care for their new babies.  Once a year, the graduates from this class have a big celebration, where they can bring their precious little ones and just share an evening of fun and fellowship.  As the staff at the center know that I am a craftsy-type person, the last few times this event has come around, I’ve been asked to make the invitations for the event.  This year they asked me to just come up with the idea and make a sample card so a group of volunteers can put them all together.  Now, being the perfectionist that I am, I have to admit it’s a little hard giving up the task of making all the cards myself, but I came up with a cute idea and wrote some pretty clear instructions (I think anyway!) on how to construct the cards, so I’m sure they will turn out fine.  🙂

IMG_8915

I apologize for the crappy night-time photo.  I had to construct the card on Wednesday night and bring all the materials to the Alpha Center on my way to work on Thursday morning, so I didn’t have a chance to get a good daytime photo.

All the materials I used on the card were from Hobby Lobby.  Seriously, I love that store!  These days, it’s odd if I’m not in there at least once every other week or so!  The cards needed to be gender neutral, so I got pre-made turquoise cards and some cute baby paper.  The paper is attached to the card with adhesive squares to avoid the wrinkling caused by glue.  The “You’re invited” cardstock was printed on the computer and trimmed to size, glued to the strip of cardstock underneath, and attached to the card with adhesive squares.  The little flower is attached with a glue dot, as is the little bow on top.  Hopefully whoever from the volunteer group is making the bows for the cards is better at it than I am!  I’ve never been good at bows.  Inside is another printed piece of off-white cardstock with the details about the event

If you would like to learn more about the Alpha Center, or how you can help, you can check out their website here.

Share your thoughts

